skip to Main Content

2017 Hawaii’s Woodshow Na La‘au o Hawai‘i

The 2017 Hawaii’s Woodshow™, Na La‘au o Hawai‘i was Hawai‘i Forest Industry Association’s (HFIA) 25th annual juried woodworking exhibition.



The jurors for Hawaii’s Woodshow 2017 were:

Mark Sfirri, Pennsylvania

Mark Sfirri runs the Fine Woodworking Program at Bucks County Community College in Newtown, Pennsylvania. While he was trained in furniture design and production at Rhode Island School of Design, his current work is sculptural. His interest in creative aspects of wood turning led him to pioneer the use of multi-axis spindle turning to create objects that range from sculptural figurative forms to table legs. He has lectured and demonstrated throughout the United States, Canada, Ireland, France, England, and New Zealand, and has written numerous articles about furniture and wood turning.

John Gonczar, Washington

John Gonczar has been designing and building fine furniture for more than 30 years. He began building unique furniture while residing in the Waiawa Valley on O‘ahu. Interesting note, John had an entry in the first Woodshow in 1993. He now lives in the Northwest where inspiration comes in combining big leaf maple with Hawaiian woods.


 Noe Tanigawa, O‘ahu

Noe Tanigawa grew up in Hawaii.  As an apprentice to a tea ceremony potter, Baizan Nakamura, in Japan, she learned appreciation for the off kilter, and wabi sabi.  American ceramics with Peter Voulkos in Berkeley instilled in Tanigawa the love for manipulating forms.  Darryl Hughto, in Clement Greenberg’s collection, was her rough and tumble painting mentor in New York.  In Hawai’i, she studied with Helen Gilbert and Fred Roster.  Tanigawa works primarily in encaustic (wax) and gold leaf or in wax and oil on lutrador. Her paintings are in corporate and private collections in Japan and across the U.S.

2017 Hawaii’s Woodshow Sponsors


Hawai‘i Tourism Authority Community Enrichment Program
Kamehameha Schools


DLNR – Division of Forestry & Wildlife
Hawai‘i Forest Institute
Hawai‘i State Foundation on Culture and Arts
Woodcraft Supply, LLC
Tusher Architectural Group


Ron Kent


Peter Simmons-In the Woods
Shaun Fleming-Wooden Touches LLC
Steven Hill
Thomas A. Loudat
WhiteSpace Architects, Inc.

2017 Winners

Click to View PDF

People’s Choice – Scott Hare #43 Now You See Me; Now You Don’t: Extinction
Artist’s Choice – Francisco Clemente #20 Makau
People’s Choice – Scott Hare #43 Now You See Me; Now You Don’t: Extinction
Artist’s Choice – Francisco Clemente #20 Makau

2017 Winners

Relevant News

Here’s how invasive albizia trees could help ease Hawaii’s housing crisis

Back To Top